2018 Independent Spirit Awards: The Complete List Of Nominees And Winners

Miss the 2018 Independent Spirit Awards? Don't worry — we've got you covered.

On Saturday, March 3, 2018, the best in Hollywood gathered in a beachfront tent in Santa Monica, Calif. for the 33rd Annual Independent Spirit Awards. With hosts Nick Kroll and John Mulaney returning as a hilarious co-hosting team for the second year in a row, and the likes of Margot Robbie, Chadwick Boseman, Lena Waithe, and more presenting, Call Me By Your NameThe Florida ProjectGet OutLady Bird, and The Rider battled it out for the coveted Best Feature prize. 

What do the results of this category mean as we head into the 2018 Oscars? As Entertainment Tonight noted, the films awarded Best Feature at this ceremony have gone on to win five out of the last six Best Picture awards at the Academy Awards.

Of course, the most important part of the Independent Spirit Awards is to honor the year's very best in indie filmmaking. Below is the complete list of the event's nominees and winners (via E! News).

Best Feature

Call Me by Your name

The Florida Project


Lady Bird

The Rider

Best Director

Sean Baker, The Florida Project

Jonas Carpignano, A Ciambra

Luca Gudagnino, Call Me by Your Name

WINNER: Jordan Peele, Get Out

Benny Safdie and Josh Benny, Good Time

Chloé Zhao, The Rider

Best First Feature


WINNER: Ingrid Goes West


Oh Lucy!

Patti Cake$

Best Female Lead

Salma Hayek, Beatriz at Dinner

WINNER: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Margot Robbie, I, Tonya

Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Shinobu Terajima, Oh Lucy!

Regina Williams, Life and Nothing More

Best Male Lead

WINNER: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name

Harris Dickinson, Beach Rats

James Franco, The Disaster Artist

Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out

Robert Pattinson, Good Time

Best Supporting Female

Holly Hunter, The Big Sick

WINNER: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Laurie Metcalfe, Lady Bird

Lois Smith, Marjorie Prime

Taliah Lennice Webster, Good Time

Best Supporting Male

Nnamdi Asomugha, Crown Heights

Armie Hammer, Call Me by Your Name

Barry Keoghan, The Killing of a Sacred Deer

WINNER: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Bennie Safdie, Good Time

Best Screenplay

WINNER: Greta Gerwig, Lady Bird

Azazel Jacobs, The Lovers

Martin McDonagh, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Jordan Peele, Get Out

Mike White, Beatriz at the Dinner

Best First Screenplay

Kyle Aspoleta (Story by Kyle Espeleta and Jesse Wakeman), Donald Cried

WINNER: Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani, The Big Sick

Ingrid Jungermann, Women Who Kill

Kogonada, Columbus

David Branson Smith and Matt Spicer, Ingrid Goes West

Best International Film

BPM (Beats Per Minute)

WINNER: A Fantastic Woman

I Am Not a Witch

Lady Macbeth


Best Documentary Feature

The Departure

WINNER: Faces Places

The Last Men in Aleppo



Best Cinematography

Thimios Bakatakis, The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Elisha Christian, Columbus

Hélène Louvart, Beach Rats

WINNER: Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Call Me by Your Name

Joshua James Richards, The Rider

Best Editing

Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie, Good Time

Walter Fasano, Call Me by Your Name

Alex O'Flinn, The Rider

Gregory Plotkin, Get Out

WINNER: Tatiana S. Riegel, I, Tonya

John Cassavetes Award


A Ghost Story

WINNER: Life and Nothing More

Most Beautiful Island

The Transfiguration

Robert Altman Award

WINNER: Mudbound

Kiehl's Someone to Watch Award

Amman Abbasi, Dayveon

WINNER: Justin Chon, Gook

Kevin Phillips, Super Dark Times

Piaget Producers Award

Giulia Caruso and Ki Jin Kim

Ben LeClair

WINNER: Summer Shelton

Jeep Truer Than Fiction Award

Shevaun Mizrahi, Distant Constellation

WINNER: Jonathan Olshefshi, Quest

Jeff Unay, The Cage Fighter

Bonnie Award

So Yong Kim

Lynn Shelton

WINNER: Chloé Zhao