Jim Parsons To Receive GLAAD's Stephen F. Kolzak Award

The Big Bang Theory star is about to be given a prestigious honor.

On Wednesday, March 7, 2018, GLAAD announced that Jim Parsons will receive the Stephen F. Kolzak Award at the 2018 GLAAD Media Awards. According to the press release, the award "is presented to an LGBTQ media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting LGBTQ acceptance." Previous recipients include the likes of Laverne Cox, Ellen DeGeneres, Sir Ian McKellen, and, in 2017"My My My" singer Troye Sivan.

"Jim Parsons' talent, humor, and impressive body of work have made him one of the most visible and beloved out LGBTQ actors today," GLAAD's president and CEO, Sarah Kate Ellis, said of the multi-award winning actor. "Parsons not only proudly tells LGBTQ stories through his roles, but also works behind the camera with his husband Todd to tell LGBTQ stories that raise the bar for Hollywood and inspire acceptance."

In addition to his work on The Big Bang Theory, Parsons, who married his longtime partner, Todd Spiewack, last May, serves as executive producer and narrator of the new spinoff series, Young Sheldon

The Normal Heart star also runs That's Wonderful Productions with Spiewack. The company recently produced the film, A Kid Like Jake, which was directed by transgender director Silas Howard. After premiering at Sundance earlier this year, the movie, in which Parsons co-stars along with Claire Danes and Octavia Spencer, is set for a June 2018 release. 

Additionally, he will next star alongside Zachary Quinto, Matt Bomer, and Andrew Rannells in the Broadway revival of the groundbreaking comedy drama, The Boys in the Band, in May 2018.

As Nicki Swift previously reported, Britney Spears will receive the Vanguard Award at the event for her work in promoting equality and acceptance of LGBTQ people.

The 29th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, which "honor media for fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of LGBTQ people and issues," will take place at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles on Thursday, April 12, 2018. Other nominees include This Is Us, Call Me By Your Name, and Lady Bird.