Christina Aguilera Drops First Single In Six Years

Christina Aguilera is back!

The singer officially reemerged onto the music scene with the release of her first lead single in six years, "Accelerate." Aguilera dropped the track, which also features Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz, on Thursday, May 3, 2018. On the song, she sings lyrics like "Accelerate, c'mon babe / Pick up your speed / Stamina, fill me up / That's what I need."

The song's music video, which was directed by Zoey Grossman, also dropped at the same time on YouTube (via E! News).

Aguilera had previously released singles from her album Lotus in 2012. She later collaborated with A Great Big World for "Say Something," with Pitbull for "Feel This Moment," with Alejandro Fernández for "Hoy Tengo Ganas de Ti," and with Lady Gaga for "Do What U Want." She later released "Change," which benefited victims of the Pulse nightclub shooting and "Telepathy," which was recorded for the Netflix Original series The Get Down.

However, fans have been clamoring for Aguilera to release a new record for years. In January 2018, Aguilera responded to a fan who stuck a Post-it on her Hollywood Walk of Fame star, asking "where the f***" her new music was. "It's coming b****es," Aguilera teased.

That April, a source revealed to Us Weekly that Aguilera, who rocked a more natural look on the cover of Paper magazine in late March, would be releasing new music in May.

Fortunately for all Aguilera fans, they won't have to wait much longer for the singer's new album. Aguilera will release her eighth studio album, Liberation, on June 15.

Below is the track list, as provided by Amazon Music:

  1. Liberation

  2. Searching for Maria

  3. Maria

  4. Sick of Sittin'

  5. Dreamers

  6. Fall in Line (feat. Demi Lovato)

  7. Right Moves (feat. Keida and Shenseea)

  8. Like I Do

  9. Deserve

  10. Twice

  11. I Don't Need It Anymore

  12. Accelerate (Explicit) (feat. Ty Dolla $ign and 2 Chainz)

  13. Pipe

  14. Masochist

  15. Unless It's With You