What You Need To Know About Taylor Swift's 9th Studio Album

Swifties are getting an early 2020 Christmas present from Taylor Swift! The singer announced in an Instagram post that she is releasing her ninth studio album at midnight ET on Dec. 11, 2020. The news came as quite a shock to many of Swift's fans, as Swift just released her eighth studio album, folklore, on July 24, 2020. Someone has been busy during lockdown! In her post, Swift admitted, "To put it plainly, we just couldn't stop writing songs."

Twitter blew up once news of the album hit, with one user tweeting their excitement during math class: "TAYLOR IM IN MATH CLASS AND YOU'RE DROPPING AN ALBUM I LITERALLY AM CRYING AND EVERYONE THINKS IM WEIRD BUT IM SO EXCITED FOR THIS I LOVE YOU #evermore."

Swift revealed her ninth studio album's title will be evermore, and the album will be an extension of folklore. Swift explained her reason for doing so, writing, "We chose to wander deeper in. I've never done this before. In the past I've always treated albums as one-off eras and moved onto planning the next one after an album was released. There was something different with folklore. In making it, I felt less like I was departing and more like I was returning." She will also be releasing the music video for "willow" at the same time as evermore. Keep reading to learn more about Taylor Swift's second surprise album.

Taylor Swift's 'evermore' will include 15 new tracks

Taylor Swift's ninth studio album evermore (aka, folklore's "sister record") will feature many of the same collaborators as Swift's eighth studio album, including Aaron Dessner, Jack Antonoff, WB, and Justin Vernon. That said, Swift also "welcomed some new (and longtime) friends to our musical kitchen table" for this new album, as on the song "no body, no crime," featuring Haim.

The evermore tracklist is as follows: "willow," "champagne problems," "gold rush," "tis the damn season," "tolerate it," "no body, no crime" featuring Haim, "happiness," "dorothea," "coney island" featuring The National, "ivy," "cowboy like me," "long story short," "marjorie," "closure," "evermore" featuring Bon Iver. Plus, the deluxe physical edition will include the two bonus tracks, "right where you left me" and "it's time to go." Of the songs, Swift wrote, "I loved the escapism I found in these imaginary/not imaginary tales. I loved the ways you welcomed the dreamscapes and tragedies and epic tales of love lost and found into your lives. So I just kept writing them."

Swift also noted that she is releasing this album for her fans because of one very special birthday — her own. In a second Instagram post, Swift explained that, "Ever since I was 13, I've been excited about turning 31 because it's my lucky number backwards, which is why I wanted to surprise you with this now. You've all been so caring, supportive and thoughtful on my birthdays and so this time I thought I would give you something!" Swifties certainly have something to be very thankful for this holiday season!